top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlicia Lok

Living a dream you suppose to be in


At the boarder of England and Scotland

Living in a dream I should be in. This quote has been couple of years on my Instagram. To remind myself a lot of things. So am I living in my dream? Probably yes.


I'm living in a dream for past two years. I dreamt about study aboard, particular in UK for some reasons that I dont know. I was quite close going Australia before deciding to come to UK. It has been a dream come true to come here. This might be exaggerate to many of my british friends. Why do you want to come UK? there are so many country in this world. Believe me or not, UK might be the cheapest among all the options I have at that time.


So I came to UK, the first time away from home for a long time. I live the fullest, do whatever I want. Nobody will knock on my door to wake me up in the morning, noone will nag me for any random reasons. BUT i have to pay rent and I couldnt hear "dinner is ready". so yes, everything else is fine except those things. Going on a nightout and be home at whatever time I want. Whatever happen in stoke, stay in stoke. Soon, I will be home. Mean this dream will be over soon. Is the dream really over? Maybe. Probably it depends how fast I will find my next dream. Then work towards it and live in it again.


Do I always live in a dream? Probably not. Sometimes, reality hits really hard. Telling you to stop fantasying about thing you are not suppose to be. Couple years ago, i went Japan alone. I booked the flight and told everyone im going to Japan for a month, by myself. Somehow, people is shocked. They shocked because I said "im going myself." Many times, society told girls what they should do, what they shouldn't and solo travel is one of those things that girls shouldn't do. But I didn't care, packed my bags and leave for a month. It was the first time i felt such a huge excitement in my life. The trip was a treat for me. After working a year, im spending all the money i earn for the trip. Walking around Osaka, Hakone, Kyota, Tokyo has made me wonder why people stopping me from going where i want to be. Yes, there are places where is quite dangerous and many pre-caution need to be taken. But why we stopping our girls from going on their adventure not educate them to be careful.


How do i live in the dreams? Im paying to be in the dream through hard work. Couple years ago, i dreamt about being a producer. A producer role landed on me when i was 20. I was young, just graduated and i got the job with zero knowledge about the industry. I asked my employer at that time during the interview "why do you wanna hired me?". Okay, i was naive, and probably shouldnt asked that question. He saw something in me that might fit the company, or something along the line. I dont know what he mean at that time. Now I think probably is hardworking. I was running up and down on sets, take the full responsibility and doing things that i suppose to do, dont care whatever it takes to finish the tasks. Thats probably what he saw in me. I took the job and was there for 3 years before the next dream come in.


So why do i wanna live in a dream? Dreams are beautiful, it makes live you want to live the fullest and life is simply too short.


2 views0 comments
bottom of page