top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlicia Lok

Solo Trip. Not for EVERYONE



First taste of solo was 5 years ago when I was in Japan. Went for a month when I was 20. From Osaka - Jogasaki - Hokone to Tokyo, and still remember all the things that had happened on me. I did lots of research about it, where to go, what to do. The trip was amazing, I enjoy it a lot and since then I think I will be okay on a solo trip and I think everyone should be doing it, is not overrated either.


However, it changed my mind recently. The reason I love a solo trip is the freedom. You plan whatever you want to do, what to see. You got no one tolerant with, no one to wait for. And I absolutely love that idea but I realised slowly it wasn’t for everyone.


I have couple of friends told me that they couldn’t do a trip just by themselves and said to me I’m so brave to do a solo trip. I try to be in their shoes and realised they might be true.


Bravery might be the important thing in a solo trip which I’m completely agree. The idea of going into an unfamiliar place by yourself is kinda scary espeacially with what the media has painted the picture of how “dangerous”a solo trip can be, more specifically with female traveller. Couple days ago, i was waiting for midnight bus to Prague frm Budapest. I left the hostel at night and on my way to the station. The bus station is slight away from the main station. It was dark and quiet. And this point, probably is what the usual people said it is dangerous for security reason which Im not going to deny. So I went back to main station where there’s more travellers waiting for their bus. So now I should be safer right? But suddenly fear and insecurity came to find me. I was scare for no reason. I have anxiety playing with me the entire time before I was on the bus. I have no idea how to deal with it. Perhaps, this is my idea of dangerous. Putting myself in a spot for unknown and fear for it. The feeling of dangerous that you imagine is even more deadly because you know how to take precaution in this dark, quiet places in a physical environmen, you will be alert and aware of your surrounding, constantly but the feeling of it will make you just wanna go home. A comfort place of all time.




However, i think motivation is the most important thing in a solo trip. Solo trip requires a lot of it. You go on a trip by youself, you Only got yourself which somehow easier to pull yourself back during the trip. when I was writing this post, probably is the most perfect example of myself. i was on solo in Corfu, Athens and Budapest then I joined my friend and her family for couple days in Prague. It prabably is the highlight of the trip now. Now I back on my own for the rest of the adventure. Somehow I forgot how to be alone. I become slightly lazy and all I want to do is just chill at the accommodation. However, i gather all my fewer motivation, pulled myself out of the bed and walk around the town. i walk around the city and spent most of the time chilling at the cafe reading novels, editing photos, and looking at passer by. Not only that, motivation is the thing you probably need the most. At least for me. Motivation give you all the strength to go on the adventure. You put in all the effort in researching and planning. It gives you all the strength to overcome alot thing in a trip.


Solo trip might be popular now where lots of people is doing it. You met lots of people doing the same thing as you, you guys exchange and share the experience but this isn’t for everyone for many different reasons.



40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page